A (Well Written) Teenage Rant

A letter to the public…

My name is Belinda Miranda and I am writing this letter to you today to express my disgust and annoyance at the fact that teenagers are constantly being slammed and mocked in the media by adults.
I am, myself a teenager. And as a teenager I have to try to see myself from an adults point of view, but according to the media it would be impossible for me to do so, because I am just another self involved brat that is too naive (or not naïve enough) to realise how horrible I really am.
Well in plain (in a verse taken from: ‘This be the Verse’ by Philip Larkin.)
“They (teenagers) f-k you up, your mum and dad.
 They may not mean to, but they do.
 They fill you with the faults they had
 and add some extra, just for you.”
Everyone worries about us teenagers these days. They worry that we are taking drugs. They worry about the pedophiles who (apparently) stand on every street corner; they worry about the dangers of the Internet and of good old-fashioned indifference. In fact, everyone seems to feel compelled to whip himself or herself into a frenzy of panic the moment teens display any behaviour not approved by ‘those who know best’ (though weren’t these people just like us once?).

The general consensus among ‘experts’ seems to be that the state of youth is just not as robust as it used to be. We are always told that young people nowadays are less moral and less active than our parents or grandparents were. They make it seem as if young people, just don’t give a damn. We teenagers are sick and tired of seeing all these ridiculous teenage stereotypes. And we certainly don’t like how we are being portrayed in movies such as ‘Twilight’ and shows like ‘Gossip Girl’; I am being as sincere as I can be when I say that we aren’t actually obsessed about having sex and money! Though I have to admit a great of teenagers are.
I must also stress that those 25 year olds that are used to portray us in these shows and movies are just absurd. It is utterly impossible for a 15 year old to look like a male in his mid twenties it’s extremely unrealistic. It seems (to us teenagers) that only fools would seek guidance from these movies and shows to learn about the current state of teenage crazes.

We are constantly frustrated by the Taylor Momsens’ and  Miley Cyrus’ of the world that have tricked the media and all adults into believing that ‘all’ teenagers want to be like them and should be like them. We don’t want to be sluts and prance around on a stage in just some skimpy underwear!  And I would be would be weary of those who want to do that.
But parents really do think these things.

Do we dare guess that those who are so scornful of us teenagers have only have a passing acquaintance with the memory of their own teenage-hood? The teens of the past might have all the ‘answers’ but all I’m saying is that those answers could be wrong for one reason and one reason only. The teens of the past forget.
They forget how they themselves blundered through the minefield of adolescence. They forget the late-night returns to their houses to face the rage of their parents: in which they would yell to them, “What time do you call this?! We were worried sick!” They forget the foul-mouthed outbursts against their loved ones (mainly parents) who just ‘didn’t understand’. They forgot the cigarettes and the booze, and the ‘joints’ smoked in their parent’s attics or at toilets at a train station. They forget just what an ugly and painful yet fabulously irresponsible time it was being young. They forget because they grow up. We all do.
Human nature never changes. Teenage-hood never changes. Young people nowadays are no different, no better nor worse, than they were in any idealized past we may want to conjure up in our minds!

The journey from toddler to teen and beyond is still the same trial it ever was. The rampant and uncontrolled emotions, the sense of injustice at every turn and, above all,  the raging pool of hormones we all wallow in at that ‘certain age’. I believe that adults today make the mistake of judging young people by the today’s standards of society rather than the standard of teenage-hood itself. That standard is set in stone wherever you go in the world, it doesn’t matter if it’s a rich or poor country.
Youth simply has no nationality.

– Belinda Miranda

Comments
15 Responses to “A (Well Written) Teenage Rant”
  1. Being a young teenage girl working in the Service industry in a big city, I find your blog right up my street, “ A (Well Written) Teenage Rant fly around my pretty little miss ” I will keep checking for interesting additions and follow-ups that I could contribute to.
    Well said,
    Thank you 🙂

  2. Loriann Artz says:

    Awesome writing style!

  3. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  4. Sugel says:

    We all agree that teenagers can be moody, but being moody is much different from being in a state of depression.

  5. Kit Bonsu says:

    Just a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style. “Make the most of your regrets… . To regret deeply is to live afresh.” by Henry David Thoreau.

  6. Howdy. Mainly desired to post and mention that I admired this article. I’ll be bookmarking your site and looking to find out if you post any additional ones. Many thanks!

  7. Great work! I wish I could write this well!

  8. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  9. Awesome points! I am glad I found someone writing about this!

  10. Soozie Q says:

    However, if you do act correctly, in the end, people stop making these accusations. I tend to find, as a teen myself, that it is those teens who are ‘rebels’ or don’t do as they are told that have these problems. And, yes, the media does have a bad influence by putting a lot of emphasis on those teens who reject what ‘their elders’ say, but maybe if we, as fellow teens, made it clear to them that they are idiots, they would stop.

  11. Hello There. I found your blog the usage of msn. That is a really smartly written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

Leave a Reply

